The Arena

Reviews: 490

Average: 5 out of 5 Stars

3350 Sports Arena Blvd
Suite B
San Diego, CA 92110
United States
(619) 222-5554

The gym is very clean and organized. There is a consistent schedule that is easy to work around depending on if you want a morning or night class. Everyone is very welcoming and I truly feel like I get to partake in a family atmosphere. I attend the classes that can have quite a few people in it, depending, but at the same time still getting alot of person to person feedback on where I need improvement.

Kayla Rischl gave THE ARENA | The San Diego Boxing, Jiu Jitsu, MMA & Muay Thai Gym a 5 star review

The Arena is the best gym, with some of the best coaching staff in this city. They have all the boxing equipment you need and more. You can train worry free and not be hassled by staff about using equipment. Awesome Gym Awesome staff. Shalom

Krueshef Music gave THE ARENA | The San Diego Boxing, Jiu Jitsu, MMA & Muay Thai Gym a 5 star review

5 star combat sports gym; I tried a couple other gyms in the area before here and none have come close. They have a huge amount of classes where there is always one to fit your schedule. Instructors are great and everyone is very welcoming. If your interested in any combat sport in the area this is the gym to go to.

James Harris gave THE ARENA | The San Diego Boxing, Jiu Jitsu, MMA & Muay Thai Gym a 5 star review

I am very happy that I joined The Arena last September (2018). Sure, it doesn't smell so pretty ...there is grunting, groaning, sweat on the ground (ugh). But there is true instruction, learning and growing on every level that is happening everyday. What they invest in is the coaches, students, fighters and the staff. Not the fluff. The gym is wonderfully diverse with many different cultures and backgrounds. You will immediately see that when you walk in. So you will never feel like you are "different" or that others will not accept you. You will also need to make the effort to join in. No hand holding here. Of course, The Arena is not for everyone. So I suggest that you set up an appointment for a tour and maybe take a class. Have your list of questions and concerns. They will honestly answer those questions/concerns and will not force or guilt you to join like other places do. It is your choice.

Tamara Sheeler gave THE ARENA | The San Diego Boxing, Jiu Jitsu, MMA & Muay Thai Gym a 5 star review

Super clean and professional MMA GYM. Best one in San Diego. Just signed up for Two more years, with classes that start at 6:30am to 10pm, it’s perfect for my busy schedule. Coach Chuck and Coach Vince are the Mauy Thai instructors and I look forward to there classes every day!

Timothy H gave THE ARENA | The San Diego Boxing, Jiu Jitsu, MMA & Muay Thai Gym a 5 star review
Anthony Dingman Recommends The Arena

Best gym if been to in the San Diego area. The trainers are great and so are the people. They have a diverse selection of training classes as well.

4 days ago
Clarence C Joseph Recommends The Arena

The Arena is the best gym, with some of the best coaching staff in this city. They have all the boxing equipment you need and more. You can train worry free and not be hassled by staff about using equipment. Awesome Gym Awesome staff. Shalom

7 days ago
Irwin Poole Recommends The Arena

This place is a real hard nose in you’re face no bs training facility, there are so many great fighter that share there wisdom and make you feel welcomed no matter you’re fight level

2 weeks ago
Mario Gomez Recommends The Arena

friendly staff. top of the line instructors. watching my son excell massively in boxing in less than a year ( just one of the arts they teach). a lot of the fighters are not only winners but are also undefeated. that's due to having great coaches and a good "what you need" facility.

1 month ago
Mike M S Recommends The Arena

As a beginner fighter that's a few weeks into my membership, I can tell you that I love The Arena and that I already feel at home here. All of the staff & coaches have been respectful & friendly. The other members of the gym have also been friendly & helpful in helping me to learn new martial arts. I already feel more confident when walking down the street & I love the absolute smorgasbord selection of classes... 150 a week! On a whim, I can go learn some grappling, submission or not, gi or not... some striking... Thai, American, Dutch... whatever I want, whenever I want. Also, unlike another nearby MMA gym, The Arena offers Judo classes. And you know... Ju can't use what judo know! The Arena has top instructors for each discipline that are 100% sold-out, all-in. Some are there seven days a week! Their Muay Thai / Muay Boran coach is straight-up from Thailand and has been training for 50+ years. Their Judo coach is a 6th-degree black belt from Poland. The MMA / wrestling coach is an actual UFC & bare knuckle fighter. I could keep going, but you should stop wasting your time reading reviews and just come check out The Arena for yourself today!

2 months ago
Jordan Davis Recommends The Arena

If you're looking to better yourself on the mat, in the ring, or in the cage, this is the place to do it. from the staff at the desk to the coaches on the floor, the Arena does everything they can to help you better yourself physically and mentally. As long as you're ready to work you'll find dedicated professionals willing to help you improve. The Arena is as close to family as a gym can get.

2 months ago
Eric Christopher James Recommends The Arena

Staff are nice and welcoming. Good vibes! I got the feeling that the staff here at The Arena care more about our success than the money... and that is a rare find! So here begins the journey!...

3 months ago
Tamara Sheeler Recommends The Arena

I am very happy that I joined The Arena last September (2018). Sure, it doesn't smell so pretty ...there is grunting, groaning, sweat on the ground (ugh). But there is true instruction, learning and growing on every level that is happening everyday. What they invest in is the coaches, students, fighters and the staff. Not the fluff. The gym is wonderfully diverse with many different cultures and backgrounds. You will immediately see that when you walk in. So you will never feel like you are "different" or that others will not accept you. You will also need to make the effort to join in. No hand holding here. Of course, The Arena is not for everyone. So I suggest that you set up an appointment for a tour and maybe take a class. Have your list of questions and concerns. They will honestly answer those questions/concerns and will not force or guilt you to join like other places do. It is your choice.

3 months ago
Sergio Benitez Recommends The Arena

This gym is amazing if you plan on competing in any combat sport, or if you're looking for real self-defense ability. The instruction for each discipline is great. Brazilian jiu-jitsu, boxing, muay thai/kickboxing, judo, mma, etc. They probably have the most available classes w/the largest variety of combat sports of any gym in San Diego. The instruction is all quality too. Its a fighters gym, so there's plenty of guys there who will test you & help you get better as you're learning as well. Many other gyms with cardio kickboxing type programs may have legit technical classes too, but the clientele they attract aren't always the type to test you that you'd be able to defend yourself in real situations. HOWEVER, some do also have those tough individuals while also offering more amenities. For example, this gym does not have full locker rooms/showers, nor saunas, or those supplemental beneficial classes like yoga. It's purely combat, which is not good or bad, it just is. They are pretty expensive though. You could say they have that cost because of the amount of available classes, but the average person will only train 3 disciplines. Other gyms, nearby too, have many of the same classes & quality- in addition to having a sauna & locker rooms. It all comes down to instructor preference & what you can afford. I like these instructors & students, so I stay.

3 months ago
Bryant Delgado Recommends The Arena

Knowledgeable instructors with a great staff in a good environment

3 months ago
Brian Carlson Recommends The Arena

One of the cleanest facilities I have trained at with more than enough equipment and classes suited for anyone!

4 months ago
Zasha Camacho Recommends The Arena

One of the best boxing gyms in San Diego. Great staff & clean facilities. Doesn't get better than this place.

4 months ago
Tony Gee Recommends The Arena

best gym in southern California.

4 months ago
Loren Springer Recommends The Arena

I've been to MMA gyms all across the country. Not a single one can compare to the Arena. Glad to be part of the family again.

4 months ago
Salvatore Filippone Recommends The Arena

Great gym and staff. Started this month and getting back in shape primarily through boxing and high intensity training. Plenty of parking, bathrooms, and showers, which is a plus. Looking forward to losing the weight with this crew.

4 months ago
Eitan Metcalf Recommends The Arena

Great place and highly recommend to anyone wanting to learn some form of martial arts. I’ve been attending the Muay Thai classes for 6 months, and Kru Mark is an amazing teacher. On top of that, other students are friendly and more than willing to help. Classes are conducted throughout the day, which is great for me, since being active duty means my work day is unpredictable. Worth every dollar going here.

5 months ago
Brennen Muhlhan Recommends The Arena

The boxing class is phenomenal and so much fun!

6 months ago
Teylor Lopez Recommends The Arena

If you're serious about wanting to learn and learn right, this is THE place. Every coach is truly an expert in their fields, if you are ready and willing to take your training to the next level; they are great in supporting you and getting you to where you want to be. You won't be sorry about signing up and committing to bettering yourself and your skills.

7 months ago
Tou Toui Recommends The Arena

Parceque mon papa y travaille 😁

7 months ago
Luis Mayorga Recommends The Arena

This gyms has multiple classes going on the day, friendly faces, and great teachers.

7 months ago
Luther Martin Recommends The Arena

The arena is definitely worth checking out

7 months ago
Lj Aurelio gave The Arena a 4 star review

Classes for beginners to advanced, instructors are awesome, would recommend

7 months ago
Axson De La Torre Recommends The Arena

Great gym if you want to some training done properly. Everyone is pretty chill and willing to help each other out. The teachers will inspire you to get better at what you're trying to do, plus compared to other gyms the price ain't that bad. Would recommend if you're serious about training

7 months ago
Saul Eslava Recommends The Arena

The arena has very talented instructors and friendly staff, they also offer a variety of classes to fit busy schedules with prices that accommodate for everyones price range. If you are looking for a new place to practice your craft or start a new journey this is it.

7 months ago
Dan Bellows Recommends The Arena

No drop in fee, classes available throughout the entire day, awesome instructors and skilled training partners. Highly recommend for anyone in San Diego looking for serious training.

7 months ago
Prince Rojo Recommends The Arena

love the arena feels like home best place to learn

9 months ago
Kevin Valenzuela Recommends The Arena

The awesome energy and knowledge that you get in the Arena is outstanding. From the people that train here, the staff to the world-class coaches, everyone is friendly and eager to help you with anything. They have an impressive gym facility that’s kept clean and well taken care of. Classes are always intense while always having fun. Regardless of the level of athlete that you are if you are looking for top notch training with a very fun and inspiring environment the Arena is the place for you!

9 months ago
Steve Marcello Arce Recommends The Arena

Baret Yoshida Literally ALL I have to say. Of course this thing requires Twenty Five Words though. 😊😄😂

9 months ago
Jacob Dempsey Recommends The Arena

I was only able to train there one day, 3 classes, while I was in San Diego for a business conference. The Judo and Jiu Jitsu instructors where skilled at their arts and teaching. I love the work outs - Sensei Jacob Dempsey - Northern Lights Martial Arts, Anchorage, Alaska

10 months ago
Thaddeus Wilson Recommends The Arena

I started at the Arena a few months back, looking for a place where I could learn to actually fight. I practiced some martial arts as a kid but had not done any intensive workouts for about 20 years. The instructors at the Arena are great teachers. They do not coddle, and are always very real, both in the manner in which they teach and with the content of the classes. I have taken classes in Jui Jitsu, Muay Thai, Boxing and Filipino Martial Arts (Eskrima/Kali), and all of the teachers are expert and instill confidence that you are learning worthwhile techniques and drilling for necessary conditioning. Coach Willie, Coach Charles, Coach Henry, Coach Tone and Coach Joe are all seasoned professionals and good people. The facility itself is well maintained, and the class schedule is awesome. I love that classes begin a 6am and run all day on the weekdays. I am looking forward to the next couple years of training as my time here so far has been one of the best learning experiences of my life! Thanks to everybody who works so hard to make The Arena happen.

10 months ago
Kasen Ddickerson Recommends The Arena

I think the arena is great to get work in and get better

10 months ago
Kimberly Lisa Heelee Dickerson Recommends The Arena

The atmosphere of the arena is amazing and there are so many people there wanting to achieve their goals in fighting and in life. Being there reminds me that if we want something we have to put in the work for it. With that there are people there who want to support you on that journey which is huge. The different classes avaliable allow you to try any type of blood sport you’d like! For me, Muay Thai has been a huge game changer in my confidence and mind body unity. So anyone wanting to get more in tune with their mind and body, along with building confidence, you have to check it out The Arena!

10 months ago
Raul Gonzalez Recommends The Arena

The Best gym in San Diego hands down. Great coaches and staff. Shoutout to coach Joe. I've learned a lot and definitely sharpened my skills. Everyone is welcome no matter your skill level.

10 months ago
Ivan Jovčić Recommends The Arena

Great place with a lot of different classes, friendly stuff and amazing coaches. For sure one of the best MMA gyms in SD.

10 months ago
Angel Gomez Recommends The Arena

Best gym I’ve been too honestly

10 months ago
Ducky Dutkiewicz Recommends The Arena

From beginners to experts this is hands down the best martial arts gym in SD county. The coaches will treat you like their own and take care of you. It's one big family, and everyone cares for you in and out of the gym. Everyone has the same goals to be on the top on the ladder, so the training partners are top class!

11 months ago
Joshua Mitchell Recommends The Arena

there no other gym like the Arena. what I like about it are the times of the classes. the schedule of the classes really fit my personal schedule. great place.

11 months ago
Sean Driscol Recommends The Arena

Just joined today and I’m so excited to get back into it :) thanks for the tour ! Feels like an amazing place to learn and grow as a martial artist.

11 months ago
Mart Foley Recommends The Arena

This gym always keeps things interesting, switches things up day to say, making it impossible to get bored or plateau. The coaches make an extra effort to make sure you’re progressing and getting better. The facility has plenty of space and the other members are friendly and knowledgeable.

11 months ago
Theprince Theprince gave The Arena a 4 star review

Nice place

12 months ago
Adam Connie Sr. gave The Arena a 5 star review

so dope!

1 year ago
Bryant Delgado gave The Arena a 5 star review

For those looking for a challenge and andvance technique, the instructors are well skilled and experienced to offer help to all levels of skill in jiu jitsu/Muay Thai/MMA/Boxing/wrestling. Best place in San Diego

1 year ago
Junior Calderon Recommends The Arena

I had a great experience being around great people, when I moved to Pacific Beach, I was looking for place and I thank god that I was able to find this place on Google 🙏 The staff is nice and they are good at setting you up to get started 👌

1 year ago
Michael Sanchez gave The Arena a 5 star review

The Arena is super well ran with great instructors. They offer classes in many different disciplines and the atmosphere is great for learning!! Iv never felt out of place there Iv never felt bullied or singled out, everyone contributes to each other’s progression which I can’t say enough about, Iv also picked up some skills standing up so defiantly five stars �

1 year ago
Kevan Dykes gave The Arena a 5 star review

Been training here for about 8 months. You couldn’t ask for a more professional staff and facility than the arena. Train alongside professional fighters and hobbyists in a variety of disciplines and s&c programs.

1 year ago
Conner FitzGerald gave The Arena a 5 star review

I absolutely loved training here. Had to move for work but would go here forever i if could. Baret was an incredible coach and Chris Leben's wrestling class is so great!!

1 year ago
Zasha Camacho gave The Arena a 5 star review

Just signed up at The Arena. Great facility, super friendly people there. Looking forward to being a part of that gym fam! Gloves up!!!

1 year ago
Joel Wasserman gave The Arena a 5 star review

Looking to take your fighting to another level? This is the place to be! The Arena has the best equipment, staff, and most affordable program in California. Learn From the best trainers, and push yourself to new heights with the best in ground game, muay thai, and boxing! Also, there is a weight room for strength and conditioning. This facility is the most legit, I have ever seen. Warriors welcome.

1 year ago
Alfrd Vll gave The Arena a 5 star review

Been here for while staff is great and members are very friendly. If you wanna start at least the basic. Its a great way to start here or atleast check out.

1 year ago
Temeshia Morris gave The Arena a 5 star review

It’s s really great place to start training and learning the fundamentals. The staff and instructors are very professional and friendly.

1 year ago
Ignacio Lopezalonso gave The Arena a 5 star review

Great place to train. Friendly and very helpful staff! They have everything here BJJ, boxing, wrestling for all levels of experience. What are you waiting for get off your couch and head over there

1 year ago
George Heads Oloan gave The Arena a 5 star review
1 year ago
Rameau Sokoudjou gave The Arena a 5 star review

👊🏿🤜🏿💥🤛🏿✊🏿

1 year ago
Shardae Gulley gave The Arena a 5 star review

I love this place ! It’s very relaxing! Nobody Judges you ! And EVERYONE is friendly !

1 year ago
Rob Sanchez gave The Arena a 5 star review

Awesome gym clean and the staff was very welcoming next time I'm in San Diego I'll be back

1 year ago
Geno Joog Graham III gave The Arena a 5 star review
1 year ago
Tom Brier gave The Arena a 5 star review

I learned more in 3 months at Arena than I did in 3 years at my previous gym. I’m pretty un-athletic but after training for 3 months at The Arena, I was able to compete (and win) in my amateur MMA debut. I credit it all to my coaches and training partners at Arena. Not only are the coaches world-class, they genuinely care about the success and well-being of their students. Countless times, my coaches went out of their way to help teach me things that I was struggling with. On top of that my training partners were top-notch, consistently pushing me to the next level. Everyone seems to share the same goal of learning and growing. The result is a strong community with a tradition of winning. I cannot say enough good things about The Arena. It’s by far the best gym and community I’ve ever been a part of.

1 year ago
Daniel Mosco gave The Arena a 5 star review
1 year ago
Mario Crespo gave The Arena a 5 star review

Great atmosphere I like how were all treated and well trained

1 year ago
Kayla Rivera gave The Arena a 5 star review

The Arena is a wondeful gym that leaves you feelig satisfied after every workout class. It’s definitely a positive environment and the instructors are more than helpful and teach you so much about discipline! I appreciate that their classes are scheduled throughout the day which makes it easier for someone who schedules vary. Definitely worth getting a membership if you are planning to be fit and stay in shape!

2 years ago
Canton Miller gave The Arena a 5 star review
2 years ago
Jorge Mendez gave The Arena a 5 star review

The Arena is the best gym I've ever been to. You get more than a workout, as soon as you walk through the door, you have a staff and group of instructors there to assist you. You have a selection of one 170 classes a week in various combat sports such as boxing, jiu jitsu, judo, MMA, Muay Thai, and wrestling. There's even a room dedicated to strength and conditioning. Call to schedule your free trial and come see what The Arena is all about.

2 years ago
Oliver Gonzalez gave The Arena a 5 star review

This gym is not just a place to work out. Is a place where you could build a stronger self esteem, and emotional intelligence . The instructors are not just people to guide you to a more fit you. They are teachers that make you challenge yourself to always last a little longer give a little more. Because every instructor,to my observation care and love what they do.

2 years ago
Nathan Blondin gave The Arena a 5 star review
2 years ago
Vincent Sean gave The Arena a 5 star review

The Arena is a great gym, full of great people to really motivate you & to be a better you. This gym is for everyone whether if you’re just starting out as a novice or a pro. Also has a very flexible schedule which is a plus!!

2 years ago
Timothy H Miller gave The Arena a 5 star review

This gym is a great positive environment, clean, huge, and all equipment new... unlike many MMA gyms. Kru Mark is my Muay Thai instructor, and after one class with him it was apparent this gym was something special. After training with him for over a year, my strength and striking skills are at an all time high. This was also the only gym that had a class schedule that matched my busy life. Most days classes start at 6am to 9pm, leaving me ample opportunities to go in and train. All other coaches and students I've met at the gym have been great, and I find myself everyday looking forward to training at The Arena.

2 years ago
Bryan DeleonGuerrero gave The Arena a 5 star review

Truly an outstanding gym. I’ve only visited a few local gyms during my 6 year stay in San Diego. I’ve been a member since 2012 and since then I’ve felt a part of a really close family that shared the passion of martial arts. Everyone is extremely humble and the curriculum is beginner friendly. Also for those looking for a challenge and andvance technique, the instructors are well skilled and experienced to offer help to all levels of skill in jiu jitsu/Muay Thai/MMA/Boxing/wrestling. Also just recently they began teaching Combat Jiu Jitsu. One of the very few jiu jitsu gyms in San Diego that offers these classes.

2 years ago
Sergio Hernandez gave The Arena a 5 star review

Amazing people. Best training and atmosphere. I’m proud to be a part of it

2 years ago
Zac Shepard gave The Arena a 5 star review

Quality instruction from experienced quality instructors who are invested in helping you grow as a Martial artist, athlete, and person.

2 years ago
Jake Linnabery gave The Arena a 5 star review

Great environment with hospitality for out of towners looking to get some gtreat training in while on vacation. No drop in fee, just show up be a good person and experience the Cali BJJ environment!

2 years ago
Hunter Knight gave The Arena a 5 star review

I trained in several martial arts, and had plenty of coaches throughout my life. The Arena coaches are top-notch, knowledgeable, and patient. They have an abundance of years in the fight game, and are effective instructors. Each day I leave, Arena, I add a new weapon to my martial art skills. The fundamental classes are technically sound, and can make anyone, beginner to professional, more crisp with with his, or her striking, and, or grappling. The Arena, offers a ton of classes. For those with a busy schedule, like myself, it is very convenient to always be able to get some work in at just about any time. The classes are also very diverse, and multiple classes may be going on at once. The Arena, is spacious by my standards, with plenty of equipment, several BJJ mats, mats for striking, two boxing rings, a gym, and showers among other amenities. The atmosphere is welcoming, and the goal is to get better. It does not feel like being thrown to the wolves, and it most definitely is not a Mcdojo. And it’s all available at a very affordable price. All in all I would recommend, The Arena, to anyone interested in improving themselves, and learning martial arts. Just come in for the trial, and test yourself.

2 years ago
Hayk Bel Sport Club gave The Arena a 5 star review
2 years ago
Dane Michael gave The Arena a 5 star review

I had always wanted to join an MMA gym, and learn martial arts, but could never pull the trigger. My friend convinced me to do a free trial there, and after one BJJ class I was hooked, and so I signed up for two years. The Arena is very passionate about teaching, so it is the perfect place if you are a beginner. I have done multiple classes in multiple marshal arts, and the coaches are some of the best I have ever worked with compared to other sports I have participated in. They are extremely patient, and really focus on fundamentals. The other aspect to the classes is that not only do you learn technique, but you will get an amazing cardio workout at the same time. Furthermore, the classes are structured throughout the day in a way where you can do for example boxing fundamentals, and then right afterwards, do BJJ fundamentals, rather than them both being at the same time. I highly highly recommend this place if you have any slight interest in learning any martial arts associated with the sport of MMA. Also, it is SUPER affordable compared to other MMA gyms!!

2 years ago
David Anderson gave The Arena a 5 star review

great place too work on all types of fighting i highly recomend this place 2 thumbs up

2 years ago
Deano Gordon gave The Arena a 5 star review

Best fight gym ever. Literally went in their a fat and with very basic knowledge. I have been here for almost 5 months and have gotten in great shape and learned various martial arts. Best gym ever!!!!

2 years ago
Peter Martinez gave The Arena a 5 star review

The Arena is a great training facility with good knowledgable coaches.

2 years ago
Enrique Marte gave The Arena a 5 star review

State of the art facility, extremely spacious, clean, all the equipment is nice and new they are constantly updating and adding new things to make the gym even better (if that was even possible). They have some of the best if not the best coaches in the game, they are walking encyclopedias of fighting knowledge with decades of fighting and training experience. If you train here i garentee that you will not regret it its physically impossible not to get better. By far the premier fight gym in san diego and one of the top in all of southern california. They really set the bar high.

2 years ago
Tito Castro gave The Arena a 5 star review
2 years ago
Will Henry gave The Arena a 5 star review

Baret Yoshida is a great BJJ coach, the students are good people, and the owner is a great guy as well.

2 years ago
Janelle Freiman Orsi gave The Arena a 5 star review
2 years ago
Piparos Vargas gave The Arena a 5 star review
2 years ago
Bruno Momeni Morey gave The Arena a 5 star review

The best place to train!

2 years ago
Kierson Baxley gave The Arena a 5 star review

By far the friendliest gym in San Diego, everyone in the classes are dedicated to learning and even assist the newer students. 10/10 would recommend to anyone interested in MMA, beginner or veteran.

2 years ago
Jay Pro gave The Arena a 5 star review

The Arena is a very good clean gym. They provide over 170 classes a week and have a strength and conditioning building separate of the gym. What's even more greater is the coaches here I get to train the the Legendary Baret Yoshida for Jiu Jitsu. The Arena is also very competitive which provides for the best training. Highly recommended 5 out of 5 star

2 years ago
Gianluca Andronico gave The Arena a 5 star review
2 years ago
Omar Bowen gave The Arena a 5 star review

Most definitely a good place to train and learn different styles of martial arts. Very Professional and very disciplined atmosphere with a great group of fighters and staff

2 years ago
Adeline Anongrack gave The Arena a 5 star review
2 years ago
Drew Brown gave The Arena a 5 star review

The best part of the Arena is the amount of classes offered throughout the day and the variety of the classes. The gym is extremely clean and has phenomenal coaches.

2 years ago
Joshua Luna gave The Arena a 5 star review

The best decision I have ever made in my life. This gym is more than your typical martial arts gym, where you can just release some steam and frustration. It is a place where you can be reborn into a better version of yourself. It is a place where you can defeat yourself and become a stronger, wiser individual. It is the place where my life was changed forever =) I truly recommend this gym to anyone who wants to change their lives forever =))) we are all one big happy family that will push each other to grow more and more everyday =)

2 years ago
Mario Eduardo Miguel Esquivies gave The Arena a 5 star review
2 years ago
Miikee Salmi gave The Arena a 5 star review

The Arena has a very diverse set of classes with a wide range of times giving me freedom to go just about anytime. Enrollment also gives me access to the full gym and all its classes so I can pick and choose each day what I want to focus on. I appreciate freedom like this in a gym. The people you come across at this gym are friendly. The coaches and staff are knowledgeable, relaxed, and funny. So I can ask questions, get pointers, and be entertained. The coaches are always observing the entire time and coming by each group to give pointers instead of demonstrating a technique and then leaving the mats to do something else. They are also not smug or dismissive to questions. The members of the gym are overall relaxed with plenty to learn from and they're willing to give you advice if you ask. Overall I've enjoyed being a part of this gym and feel that I've progressed and learnt alot in many different areas of combat sports. Highly recommended!

2 years ago
Seanie Cash gave The Arena a 5 star review

This gyms has everything for you. Coaches are all patient when teaching techniques, whether is kickboxing, Muay Thai, Boxing or Jiu Jitsu they will walk you through it until it sticks. Beginners, intermediate or advance they offer a class for you. Definitely recommended!

2 years ago
Michael Soto gave The Arena a 5 star review

This place is amazing. It's a huge facility with 2 boxing rings and a ton of heavy bags. The other half of the gym is dedicated to grappling with a miniature octagon in the back. They have different classes that run all day at different experience levels so everyone can participate. Most importantly there's no pretension. Everyone there just wants to improve and help others. Truly a gem in San Diego. Stop by for a free class!

2 years ago
Sebastian Torreblanca DeGeratto gave The Arena a 5 star review

The Arena is THE top combat gym in San Diego. Complete w state of the art gear/equipment, bonafide coaches and committed athletes- you will reach your true potential if you put in the work. Happy to have joined the team here at Arena.

2 years ago
Caesar Barrientoz gave The Arena a 5 star review

This place is awesome! With work and life I try to find my way in when I can, I love the PowerBuild and FightBuild classes! They really focus on your goals and help you reach them whatever they may be. The staff is super friendly and this is definitely a welcoming gym. I would recommend this gym to any skill level and to any person looking to make a healthy change! Price is great for the quality gym and coaches you get, this place is definitely worth a try!

2 years ago
Christopher Gianni gave The Arena a 5 star review

Incredible workout with the group. All business. Loved it.

2 years ago
Cris Eaves gave The Arena a 5 star review

The attitude and vibe here at the Arena are great; the staff is always helpful, and the coaches are very knowledgeable and encouraging. I enjoy the team atmosphere, and the equipment and facilities they have really are impressive. Even if you aren't looking to compete or you are a total beginner, this is a great gym for anyone that wants to train martial arts and get in shape.

2 years ago
James Lincoln gave The Arena a 4 star review

Great place to learn all phases of fighting. I'f looking for a physical environment and to bring your skills to the next level then this is the spot.

2 years ago
Dave Kim gave The Arena a 5 star review
2 years ago
Alexandra Long gave The Arena a 5 star review

I cannot recommend The Arena highly enough. The level of professionalism, dedication and commitment is evident from every member of the staff. That atmosphere has drawn some of the most gifted and unique individuals I have had the pleasure of meeting. Top quality, hands down.

2 years ago
Max Alexis Schwartz gave The Arena a 5 star review

Moved to San Diego 1 month ago. First thing on my list (after moving out of my car into an apartment) was to find the local Jiu Jitsu & MMA schools. Literally drove around San Diego, and checked out half of the gyms in town.. The focus in alot of the gyms is on the egos/images of the staff members VS producing competent fighters, and providing the most efficient & suitable environment for like minded people to meet, and improve towards higher versions of themselves (most of the places you get plenty of mad-dogging, douchiness, etc).... "THE ARENA" embodies all the complete opposite qualities.. The focus is where it should be, on the training itself.. Not on how many new membership commissions staff members can pull off in a given day or week.. Mike is a great guy. The place beams positive vibes in & out VS all the passive aggressive posturing stuff. Chris Leben is one of the coaches which speaks for itself. He can choose where he wants to work, and yet he works at "THE ARENA". Am so stoked, and grateful to have found a new home in San Diego that can facilitate me to grow into the person I've always been intending to become. This place is awesome all around. Siskel & ebert would have given two thumbs up if they were into man stuff. Total win all around.

2 years ago
Gregorio Ambriz gave The Arena a 5 star review

Muy Bonito Gimnasio... Exelente Atención!!! Y personas claro.... volveremos

2 years ago
Bryan Figueroa Garcia gave The Arena a 5 star review
2 years ago
Anthony Graham gave The Arena a 4 star review

The atmosphere when you enter is friendly and they great you with an open hand

2 years ago
Lance Vinson gave The Arena a 5 star review

I dropped into the arena the other day and thought it was a fantastic gym! The setup was really nice and the atmosphere was perfect. The staff and coaches were great top notch all the way around. I would definitely go here if I lived in the area

2 years ago
Ricky Salas gave The Arena a 5 star review
2 years ago
Chavador Busques gave The Arena a 5 star review

I've been training jiu Jitsu for about 6 years now. I've been to a few gyms and the arena is by far the best for anyone wanting to learn to fight and get in shape. Or trying to take their fight career to the next level. Great staff and members.

2 years ago
Joe O'Connell gave The Arena a 5 star review

One of the best decisions I've made in my life is to walk through the doors of the Arena and sign up for a 2 year commitment. I am a personal trainer that loves being fit and challenged physically but I never knew the I could push my body to the next level like I do at the Arena. The classes are amazing and the instructors the best in the industry. One of the most greatest things that I have found is that I am now a part of an close knit community. I've never met a group of people who have been so welcoming and respectful to each other. No matter what skill level everyone who goes there are always willing to help so I feel as if I have a personal trainer always helping me. I am now the in the best shape of my life and I look forward to learning new skills every day. I'm an extremely happy gym member and I hope more people walk through the Arena doors to have the same life changing experience I have had! I will be forever thankful.

2 years ago
Ivan Pimentel gave The Arena a 5 star review

This gym is incredible! It works for very advanced fighters and beginners like myself. It has a wide variety of martial arts for you to choose from and at various times of the day. The people there are friendly and the coaches are patient and very skilled. This is my first fighting gym I have joined as an adult and I have enjoyed it a lot so far. An overall well rounded gym!

2 years ago
Teni Mob gave The Arena a 5 star review

With superb facilities and unmatched prices,the Arenna mma is by far the best mma gym in San Diego. All classes are of the highest quality and will serve everyone from beginners to professional athletes.

2 years ago
Miguel El Gran Tomás gave The Arena a 5 star review

Best sports specific Focus training I've ever had !

2 years ago
Kahlan Abdulwhhab gave The Arena a 5 star review
2 years ago
Robert Hernandez gave The Arena a 5 star review

This is a great place to wotk out andbreach your goals whether it be losing weight, or training to be a top tier fighter, I myself am completely new to all of this but that doesn't matter I still sweat and learn something everytime I leave

2 years ago
Miguel Peimbert gave The Arena a 5 star review

I've been a member for a few months and this place has far succeeded my expectations. I consider this gym to be my home away from home, all the coaches are extremely welcoming and motivating. The second you walk through the door and start training you get a feeling of camaraderie and all the egos are left at the door. Wether you're a beginner or an experienced fighter this place is perfect for everyone and if you're looking to master the martial arts or just get in the overall best shape of your life then this place is perfect for you.

2 years ago
Chris Ludecke gave The Arena a 5 star review
2 years ago
Brian Bovenzi gave The Arena a 5 star review

Zack the front desk guy was very helpful, the facility was very clean, the trainers are very willing to help. The location is very convenient being closer to five, and eight freeway. And it's much cheaper than you think it is come see Zack at the front desk.

2 years ago
Antonio Zuazo gave The Arena a 5 star review

Easily the best gym I've ever trained at! Accommodating to all walks of life wether you are a competitor or a day to day athlete! Best coaching and recourses here in sd!

2 years ago
Kahsee Chevis gave The Arena a 5 star review
2 years ago
Zach Paul gave The Arena a 5 star review

This is the 3rd gym I've trained at and my favorite by far. Great coaches who are very knowledgeable, and everyone is very helpful and has a great attitude toward training.

2 years ago
Abel Straongerz gave The Arena a 5 star review
2 years ago
Matt Nakamura gave The Arena a 5 star review

I've been a member at the Arena since Nov. 2014. This gym has so many classes that it is a great place for beginners and seasoned martial artists alike. The staff is wonderful, very friendly and martial artists themselves so it's great to see them be passionate and practice what they preach. Very rarely do you meet a member and not see them later on a few months afterwards, which helps create a great sense of community and knowing that you'll always have a great group of training partners when needed. The instructors are top-notch with so much experience, you'll be yearning to learn more. The facilities themselves are always well-kept and clean. The gym also have a strict hygiene policy which is nice to see. I can't imagine a better place to be training in the greater San Diego area.

2 years ago
Ivan Herrera gave The Arena a 5 star review

Outstanding facility with top notch instructors. Staff and members are friendly and respectful. Mats and restrooms are always clean. I'm here all the time. Fighter's gym for sure, but open and welcoming to all levels.

2 years ago
Jared Rury gave The Arena a 5 star review
2 years ago
Edward Kang gave The Arena a 5 star review

Honestly probably one of the best if not the best gym I've trained at. I've trained all over, at many high level gyms and this place has been the best for me. No BS. Pay your dues, come in, train hard, and it's as simple as that. All the coaches are extremely high level and the students are as well. Tons of classes from early morning to late evening. This place is the shit. Come in and start training. NOW. You won't be disappointed.

2 years ago
Tristan Quidachay gave The Arena a 5 star review
2 years ago
Enson Inoue gave The Arena a 5 star review

Awesome facilities and great instructors!!! Friendly staff and awesome location with lots of parking. Everyone must go check it out!

2 years ago
Cindy Marie gave The Arena a 5 star review
2 years ago
Joe Duarte gave The Arena a 5 star review
2 years ago
Michael Ward gave The Arena a 5 star review
2 years ago
Kenneth Gentapanan Jr. gave The Arena a 5 star review

The least I could do for this gym is leave a 5 Star Rating. This place has the best training at the best prices in San Diego, and everyone there treats you as family. If I was still living in San Diego, I would still be training at this facility. If you want to learn martial arts, compete, lose weight or etc. This is the place to go, hands down.

2 years ago
Jefferson Creighton gave The Arena a 5 star review

I've been training since I was 16 years old and I've trained all over the world and The Arena is the best gym I have personally been to. You can't beat the just cool positive atmosphere here. The staff and classes are awesome! Come check this place out!

2 years ago
Kellen Conlon gave The Arena a 5 star review

Great schedule, coaches, and training partners. Everyone is there to get better and help their teammates get better. Very friendly atmosphere

2 years ago
Harvey Castellano gave The Arena a 5 star review
2 years ago
Andrews Dyer gave The Arena a 5 star review

I've been on teams and joined different gyms my entire life. The arena has provided me with everything a competitive athlete could want. From the atmosphere, the coaches, the facilities, and the people. Everything is top of the line. Highly recommend

2 years ago
Siara Luna gave The Arena a 5 star review

The best place to train . Love it here . Everyone and coaches are great. ��

2 years ago
Nate Horn gave The Arena a 5 star review

The Arena is a great place to train. From a boxing standpoint and strength and conditioning standpoint. This place rocks. I've learned so much from the coaches here. I highly suggest anyway wanting to learn and utilize MMA style training to come here.

2 years ago
Joey Kong gave The Arena a 5 star review

Jiu jitsu at The Arena is fun and intense. All skill levels are welcome! I started as a beginner and fell in love. Coaches are instructive and motivating.

3 years ago
An Thanh gave The Arena a 5 star review

Amazing gym !!! Been here for a couple months now .. and I love it !! Friendly environment, amazing coaches and affordable !!! Couldn't ask for a better gym

3 years ago
Eric J Wesselink gave The Arena a 5 star review
3 years ago
Tony Robertson gave The Arena a 5 star review
3 years ago
Frankie Odessa Kane Quiñones gave The Arena a 5 star review

I would highly suggest The Arena for those seeking to train Jiu Jitsu. In Master Baret Yoshida's class his step by step attention to detail is the perfect environment for attaining high level Jiu Jitsu. Do not pass up the opportunity to train at the Arena. Thank you Master Barry for the recent class! It truly was an honor.

3 years ago
Landon Ash gave The Arena a 5 star review

Great gym! The staff here is very helpful and friendly. If you are on the fence about starting your mma training because you're concerned about you skill level, just make the first step and come in. The staff will be more than happy to set you up with any equipment you need and ALL skills levels are accommodated for here. As a beginner/intermediate in jiu jitsu, they were very welcoming in any other classes I was interested in. Highly recommend this gym!

3 years ago
Tim Walther gave The Arena a 5 star review
3 years ago
Erik Wright gave The Arena a 5 star review
3 years ago
Nate Rocco Sinisgalli gave The Arena a 5 star review

Clean, great atmosphere and the staff are very accommodating. That being said, it creates an atmosphere that transfers to their members. Everyone is helpful and courteous. Jake is a great instructor. Thanks to Zac for helping me get signed up!

3 years ago
Ugo Yvan Ruggiero gave The Arena a 5 star review
3 years ago
Jeff Kelley gave The Arena a 5 star review
3 years ago
Benjamin Harel gave The Arena a 4 star review
3 years ago
Howard Maue gave The Arena a 5 star review

This is a great gym, whether you are an experienced fighter or just starting out. The coaches and staff are all very knowledgeable, friendly, and passionate when it comes to training. The facility itself is simple but amazing, with two boxing rings, punching bags, speed bags and almost everything else you need. Without a doubt this is one of the best gyms to train at.

3 years ago
Jamison Rigley gave The Arena a 5 star review

Great gym with a great staff, everyone there is very knowledgeable and willing to help you learn and better yourself!

3 years ago
David Kett gave The Arena a 5 star review

On holiday from New Zealand. Turned up for a roll and was made to feel most welcome. Great instruction and friendly group of people. Thanks.

3 years ago
Jacob Mahnke gave The Arena a 5 star review

My wife and I have been coming here for a little over 2 yrs. now. We did the military 2 yr. contract for 79/month to save us a little bit of money. So far it has worked out for us, and we have seen a lot of good changes since we started. The strength and conditioning program is incomparable to anywhere else I have ever been. The fact that I have been able to stay at one gym and continue taking classes from the same instructor for 2yrs. speaks volumes. The schedule for any of the other classes are very forgiving, usually classes in the mornings repeat in the afternoons. I haven't tried out the Muay Thai or BJJ class, but the boxing coaches are some of the best out there. They are patient and focus on good technique before anything else but based off of the pedigree of all the coaches, you will get a good experience regardless if you participate in Muay Thai, BJJ, Boxing, or Wrestling. Without a doubt this gym has become a corner stone for our daily life. We wouldn't switch if you paid us. Definitely check out Coach Andy's strength and conditioning class.... its painful in all the best ways.

3 years ago
Josh Kohn gave The Arena a 4 star review

Great training facility, awesome instructors and just overall warm/welcoming environment. Intense workouts and good instruction has really made me like this place

3 years ago
Jason Toscano gave The Arena a 5 star review
3 years ago
Ahmed Aljanaby gave The Arena a 5 star review
3 years ago
Stephen K Arce gave The Arena a 5 star review
3 years ago
LuKas JuJizero gave The Arena a 5 star review

This Place is just awesome!! Go and Train there i really recomend Baret & Jake's Bjj lessons !! Love it !!! Ooss

3 years ago
Mike French gave The Arena a 5 star review

I joined this gym about 2 months ago. I had no previous experience with MMA. I've been focusing mostly on the boxing fundamentals class, and so far I have found the instructors and members to be very friendly and easy to work with. I would definitely recommend this gym to others.

3 years ago
Mauricio Ferrandis gave The Arena a 5 star review
3 years ago
Ramiro Meza gave The Arena a 5 star review
3 years ago
Max Mendoza gave The Arena a 5 star review

Great gym! Great staff. Strictly fundamental. Definitely had to sign today!

3 years ago
David DaSilva gave The Arena a 5 star review

I've been at the Arena since 2013 and haven't looked back ever since. I came in with an open mind and willing to learn what I was capable of. At first I thought it would be kind of scary but the staff treats everyone like their own and really make you feel welcome. Here their are no egos and everyone is their for the same reasons you are. I originally began training Boxing and Muay Thai when I signed up. I dabbled in a little bit of Jiu Jitsu but never really got into it until I bought my first GI. Now I mostly only train Jiu Jistu and i feel my progression not only physically but mentally as well. It all has changed my life for the better. The instructors as well as team mates are top notch, and really look out for you. If you're looking to get into any sort of martial art, and get in shape for a killer deal, then look no where else cause you found the spot.

3 years ago
Jeremy Vargas gave The Arena a 5 star review

To me the arena is the premier training ground for all martial arts in San Diego. Each discipline is represented by instructors who are masters in their craft. Every student is treated equally here, and given detailed instruction that best suits their training objectives. Whatever your purpose is for signing up, your expectations will be exceeded.

3 years ago
Ryan Thamann gave The Arena a 5 star review

This is a great place to either start or continue your martial arts journey. The coaches are world class, the classes are full of excellent training partners and the schedule is flexible enough to meet anyone's needs! The facility itself is continually being upgraded with new equipment, although it is already state of the art. All in all this is the place to train in San Diego.

3 years ago
Benjamin Bui gave The Arena a 5 star review

Joining the Arena was the best thing I have done for myself in my life time. It has been just short of 2 years since I joined the Arena family. In that short amount of time, I have found father figures,mentors, and honest life long friends in the coaches that teach the classes I take, which include: strength and conditioning, Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, Muay Thai Kick Boxing, Boxing, Wrestling, and most recently, both the MMA fundamentals and team sparring class. This is for you guys that helped and are still helping grow into the strongest possible person I can be. Not both physically, but mentally. What this fight gym has to offer: > The best fucking coaches ever. (I have Baret Yoshida and UFC's Chris Leben as coaches, as well as Chris Cyborg's Strength and Condition coach, a Muay Thai Champion, a boxing coach that has taught Olympians, The Ultimate Fighter 7 contender Jesse Taylor, and more) >126+ classes offered each week. (The most classes offered at any fight gym this side of the USA) >Unlimited access for members. You can take every single class they offer, every single day The Arena is open >Train like a professional fighter or a hobbyist, its up to you >Large training floor space >Up to date training equipment >Jamar Coleman. This is a fight gym, not a Planet Fitness. Members are pushed, they will sweat, they might bleed, they might hurt, they will learn or break. If you come into this gym 'soft' you will learn to be 'hard'. If you come in 'hard' you will be humbled. Iron sharpen iron. Train for real. If you are afraid of joining because it seems intimidating, know that I, a 120 lb geek, that carries around a staff around the gym, does 4 classes a day, 3 days a week, call this place home, and the members and staff at this gym are my family. One day I want to fight for this gym, but for now, just being able to grow stronger at this place is good for now. Become stronger and believe. What are you waiting for? I got knocked out to day in class and it was very difficult to type this. Please do not let my efforts in this yelp page go in vain. Take your day trial.

3 years ago
Ryan Hazinski gave The Arena a 5 star review

The Arena is an amazing gym with exceptional facilities and an atmosphere that fosters growth and deters ego. I've been training here a few months and by far I am most impressed with the coaching staff. The coaches are patient, approachable, and extremely knowledgeable in their disciplines. I would definitely recommend this gym to anyone wanting to train for competition or just to meet fitness goals.

3 years ago
Cameron Krug gave The Arena a 5 star review

I trained in Tae Kwon Do as a kid and I have been missing martial arts training ever since. I checked out the Arena and was surprised how big the facility was and was welcomed by everyone. They have an awesome group of people and I will be coming back week after week.

3 years ago
Justin Mask gave The Arena a 5 star review
3 years ago
Lino Zamora gave The Arena a 5 star review

Muy buenas instalaciones, personal muy atento, amable, con gran disposición y excelente equipo laboral.... Y humildes

3 years ago
Jet Olaco gave The Arena a 5 star review

Ill keep it short and to the point, and Ill speak only about the jiu jitsu program since thats pretty all I train in. This by far the best gym I have set foot in, and Ive been in alot of gyms since i travel alot and drop in gyms in la and san diego, so the main thing to look for in a good bjj gym first and foremost the coaches. For anyone who doesnt know, the legend Master Baret Yoshida heads the bjj program, as far as coaches go he's one of the best out there. There is also coach Jake a high level black belt and coach Johnny a high level brown belt soon to be black belt so whenever the hell you wanna train in the week there is probably a bjj class. So next is training partners, you got some of the coolest laid back killers in bjj here. Alot of competitors as well as casual rollers, but competition is big here so be ready to at least compete or be in competition level training classes. Matt space is a non issue here as it is in other gyms, you got tons of matt space and even a cage to have some private rolls in. Very clean as well, and staff is the best, very cool approachable peeps who also have extensive backrounds in martial arts. So there you go hope this helps u make a decision on joining the arena, oh yea and price is very affordable and u have access to all forms of martial arts we have here from boxing to muay thai and a great strength and conditioning program

3 years ago
Jerry Najera gave The Arena a 4 star review

i have been at the arena since it started and it was just the jiu jitsu mats, since then the gym has grown. the coaches and staff have always been great, it has been a great experience. i like that master baret and the coaches push you to improve along with the staff.

3 years ago
Javier Sanchez gave The Arena a 5 star review

Hands down to this gym. The staff is great. The coaches are great. I am a baby in MMA and the coaches in here get you going. Great fundamentals are being taught and they also carry lenders if you don't have the equipment to train. No excuses to not train. Believe me you will have fun!

3 years ago
Bernard Lingasin gave The Arena a 4 star review

the arena has one of the best instructors around and lot's of motivated people that are always willing to train with you jiu-jitsu boxing Muay Thai or mma and one of the cleanest facility.

3 years ago
Tallon Rauch gave The Arena a 5 star review

I'm so lucky to have found this place. I was a little nervous going in because of my beginner skill level, but that soon went away. Everybody here is so helpful and understanding. We are all a team here working towards something better and The Arena makes that very noticeable. The Arena has pushed me to test my full capabilities and I'm very satisfied with every aspect here. Great gym! ✊

3 years ago
Dominic Damian gave The Arena a 5 star review

I'm a bit biased because I have been a student of Baret's for many years, but The Arena is one of the best run martial arts gyms I've ever been to. The facility is always clean, has world class instructors who all leave their egos at the door and become students the minute they walk in. The rest of the staff, and manager Mike are fantastic, they keep the morale high and competitive, but still friendly and welcoming for new members. The location is great; plenty of parking, near lots of healthy food, and easy freeway access. I'm thankful to be part of The Arena family and look forward to many more years there.

3 years ago
Nicky Khisirivong gave The Arena a 5 star review

I first got introduced to the gym by my brother. I was a bit nervous first going in, as for not having any combat sports experience, but the staff has been nothing but friendly and helpful. I mainly just train in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu with Baret Yoshida. The way he teaches, you can tell that he really wants every student to succeed. The schedule of classes works out great, accommodating for the mornings and the nights, you can always find time for a class. Coming into a combats sports environment is a bit intimidating, especially being a beginner, but everyone is just there to get better and have a good time. The more i have been coming, the more i feel apart of The Arena family. Great environment, I highly recommend this gym for anyone who is planning to participate in the sport casually or even competitively!

3 years ago
Sean Chveholyak gave The Arena a 5 star review
3 years ago
Cliffton Killen gave The Arena a 5 star review
3 years ago
Manolo Paúl gave The Arena a 5 star review

The Arena is by far the BEST martial arts gym I have ever been to. I have always enjoyed training in boxing and after experiencing 2 other boxing gyms (prefer not to say) The Arena blew them out of the water. Their coaches and trainers are experienced and overall great people. They push you to get the best out of you and work with people from all types of experience levels. Whether you're a beginner or a pro fighter they are great at helping you reach your full potential. They also offer amazing Muy Thai, MMA, and also weight lifting and conditioning classes and all the instructors are incredibly friendly, knowledgeable, and they help you feel part of a large MMA community/family. Don't hesitate. Go check out The Arena! You won't be disappointed!

4 years ago
Tej Singh gave The Arena a 5 star review

This gym is excellent. I came here as a beginner, and everyone has been extremely nice and pleasant to work with. I picked this gym for their boxing classes, and I love them. All the coaches are extremely helpful and nice and want you to get better. This isn't a gym with a workout video. Its a gym that actually helps you train and learn. It is a safe environment for both males and females, and I highly recommend this gym to anyone interested in learning how to box. The trainers, the staff, and all the members at this gym are great. There are no egos at this gym. I have been with this gym since last summer, and I plan on staying!

4 years ago
Jay Game-Whey gave The Arena a 5 star review

This place is as good as it gets. Whether you are already a competitor in MMA/boxing/Jiu Jitsu, or you are starting from the ground up, this place covers all the bases. The instructors are world class, and it is not uncommon for you to be training with professional and amateur athletes in combat sports. I do the boxing and jiu jitsu classes, and the amount of technique I have learned in the time I have been training there is amazing. There is also a separate building for strength and conditioning which has all the equipment needed to supplement your fight training. Coach Andy, who is in charge of the strength and conditioning program, is one of the best personal fitness trainers around, and I would highly advise checking out his classes too.

4 years ago
Chris Jalapeño Schultz gave The Arena a 5 star review

Man I love this place! I've trained at other facilities but this one is just top notch, plenty of classes to choose from, very clean and multiple showers to choose from, plenty of parking and some of the best instructors like BJJ legend and world champion Baret Yoshida. Great atmosphere all around.

4 years ago
JD Speck gave The Arena a 5 star review

Love training at The Arena! As soon as you walk in, you can tell this is a place people come to put in hard work. Everyone is extremely friendly, from the front desk, instructors, to management. If your ever in San Diego you must check out The Arena!

4 years ago
Jorge Avila gave The Arena a 5 star review

6 months ago i joined in what has to one of the best decisions of my life. i cant say enough good things about it. the people who instruct/work/train here are all amazing beings and it has amazed me what an accepting and helping community exists. you know everyone is there to help each other grow and there is no ego here regardless of experience level. this is not a cardio/selfie gym, this is a place to learn real skills and make real progress to reach your goals and the people to make it possible.

4 years ago
Jimmy Truong gave The Arena a 5 star review

Joining the Arena has been such a great decision. They do a great job of keeping facilities clean. It is a very friendly atmosphere and everyone is helpful. All the coaches are excellent and always push you succeed. If you're curious, I highly recommend you come check out the arena. The staff is awesome.

4 years ago
Reymon Soriano gave The Arena a 5 star review

My buddy and I were looking for a place to train. We found this place and fell in love with it. Great facility, great coaches and most importantly great atmosphere to learn.

4 years ago
Sergio Lopez gave The Arena a 5 star review

Best MMA gym in town! Stacked Schedule, you can stay busy if you really wanted to spend the day here. Great coaches and staff! Honored to train at such an amazing facility.

4 years ago
Tan Miguel Tolentino gave The Arena a 5 star review

I love training here due to the quality of instruction and variety of classes and convenient class times.

4 years ago
Tony Mejia gave The Arena a 5 star review

This gym has the best combination of facilities, people, and instruction around. The instructors are second to none, all top notch. The instructors do a great job of teaching that anyone no matter what their skill level will understand and be able to follow along. The facilities are some of the best you’ll encounter anywhere in the country. The mat space is large, open, and clean. Sometimes classes get crowded but that's to be expected when you're training at one of if not the best Combat Sports/MMA gym in the country. I give THE ARENA MMA my highest recommendation.

4 years ago
Ayla Ashley gave The Arena a 5 star review

I absolutely love The Arena. I went in completely new to boxing, jiu jitsu, and all the other classes they have to offer and the coaches were so helpful. Everyone is friendly and motivates you to obtain the goals you're looking to achieve.

4 years ago
James Morohi gave The Arena a 5 star review

My second's familly !!!!!!!!!!!!

4 years ago
Jessica Vera gave The Arena a 5 star review
4 years ago
Ernie Cuevas gave The Arena a 5 star review

Everyone at the Arena welcomed us with open arms!! We travel from Greenville SC, to be apart of this great program every summer! Gracias To all. Especially Joe Vargas

4 years ago
Rocky R. Twitchell gave The Arena a 5 star review

San " The Arena " Diego ....... Must train location on the planet

4 years ago
Juan Herrera gave The Arena a 5 star review
4 years ago
TJ McCurdy gave The Arena a 5 star review
4 years ago
MJ Hawk gave The Arena a 5 star review

This place is hands down the best gym to come to in SD. I was a member back in the day and just ended up coming back recently. When I was a member before, the gym was only one room now they've doubled in size and went from 40 classes a week to 170 classes per week! Not to mention they have assembled an awesome roster of coaches from around the area. There's also a huge number of active fighters in this gym. Simply put, if you're an up and coming fighter or a seasoned fighter and you're in San Diego and you're not training at The Arena then you're not serious about competing, that's all there is to it!!

4 years ago
Ermin Fergerstrom gave The Arena a 5 star review

Badass place, top quality training and welcoming atmosphere. Highly recommended!

4 years ago
Willie B. Laureano gave The Arena a 5 star review

It's my go to place to learn when I'm in San Diego!!!! Top Notch instruction from amazing teachers. It's a serious gym. A fighters gym. With True Warrior Spirit!!! There's nothing like Arena MMA. Don't go anywhere else when your in that area.

4 years ago
Leo Chavira gave The Arena a 5 star review

Top notch training in The Arena. No cardio kickboxing or cardio boxing. Great coaches with knowledge that will make a fighter become something incredible. From boxing to Jiu Jitsu this is the place to train. Sparring that helps develop fighters and great strength and conditioning classes as well. IRON SHARPENS IRON!

4 years ago
Zachary Bradford gave The Arena a 5 star review

Best coaches, staff, environment, and training partners around... What more could you ask for?

4 years ago
Raquel Miller gave The Arena a 5 star review
4 years ago
Clemens Jake HaMan gave The Arena a 5 star review
4 years ago
Rie Yoshida gave The Arena a 5 star review
4 years ago
Joe Vargas gave The Arena a 5 star review
4 years ago
Maloss Vaimiti gave The Arena a 5 star review
4 years ago
Freddy Sosa gave The Arena a 4 star review
4 years ago
Francis Dagayray gave The Arena a 4 star review
4 years ago
Andrew Kelsay gave The Arena a 5 star review

This Gym is Legit, Great people and excellent instructors.

4 years ago
Brandon Trapse gave The Arena a 5 star review
4 years ago
Vasily Okulov gave The Arena a 5 star review
4 years ago
Baret Yoshida gave The Arena a 5 star review
4 years ago
Boungnaphonh Makthepharaks gave The Arena a 5 star review

serious fight gym always aim for Excellence !

4 years ago
Misa Misa gave The Arena a 5 star review

Best Club

4 years ago
Tyler VanKill gave The Arena a 5 star review

This place will be the reason I will be a world champ! Team first mentality and a true brotherhood!

4 years ago
Ursula J. Ward gave The Arena a 5 star review

I love the atmosphere, everyone gets along well and its 100% professional. Coaches are awesome, very patient with everyone! Definitely worth every penny spent on this place. I highly recommend this place!

4 years ago
Sergio Delgado gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Danny Proulx gave The Arena a 5 star review

I trained there last Friday. The instructors were extremely knowledgeable and I learned a lots from them. I strongly suggest to train there if you move or visit San Diego.

5 years ago
Gee Zhu gave The Arena a 5 star review

awesome place to train. Kru Mark is an awesome muay thai instructor.

5 years ago
Antonin Durchanek gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Jr Malensek gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Tom Enstone gave The Arena a 5 star review

Good gym very accommodating will go again next time I'm in san diego

5 years ago
Alex Trinidad gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Adam King gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Sascha Sharma gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Jesse Skatzes gave The Arena a 4 star review
5 years ago
SJ Rios gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Arne Eastlund gave The Arena a 5 star review

Thank you for offering your facilities to the 670th MP Co in preparation for our overseas deployment. 1SG

5 years ago
Ernist Zae Davis gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Adrian Mozart King gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Ramiro Meraz gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Armando Jimenez gave The Arena a 4 star review
5 years ago
Robert Vincent Eusebio gave The Arena a 4 star review
5 years ago
Ray Estrada gave The Arena a 4 star review
5 years ago
Raleigh Ryan Slater Jr. gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Sebastian Yatra gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Pedro Henrique Caravellas gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Heather Madewell gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Nestor Vasquez gave The Arena a 4 star review
5 years ago
Steeve Jean gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Alexis J Caceres gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Joaquin Ortiz gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Garff Maat'Heru gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Leyenda Ernesto gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Teo Storm gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Ganzo Echevarria gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Anthony Ramos gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Nick Deierlein gave The Arena a 5 star review

Great coaches, staff, and management. Micky works the front desk and helps out all around the gym. He always seems to be in a good mood. As far as coaches, I can only speak of Kru Mark, who teaches muay thai/boran, Jason Bukich, who teaches no-gi and gi bjj, and Mike Liera, the manager, who also teaches gi jiu jitsu. Kru Mark is a true master of kickboxing and an amazing kru. He'll help you with fundamentals of punching and kicking if you're a beginner, or show you some deadly elbow/knee techniques if you have prior experience. I have the utmost respect for Kru Mark and his dedicated students. Jason Bukich is also a great instructor. He's got a black belt and slick moves, but he's one of the humblest men I've met. He's been incredibly helpful and patient with me, as transitioning from wrestling to jiu jitsu is a little funky. The bjj classes have plenty of beginners (white & blue belts) and usually some higher level guys in the mix (brown & black belts). Mike Liera, the manager, also teaches a couple of gi classes. I personally like his style of teaching, but he's also a good manager. I'm a college student with a hectic schedule and Mike's always done his best to work with me and my situation. I appreciate that, and the fact that he runs such a unique martial arts school. Awesome place to check out if you're looking for an mma gym or martial arts school.

5 years ago
Noor Habeeb gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Emma O'Kane gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Brenda Ludwig gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Daniel Cuki Minov gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Joshua Rech gave The Arena a 4 star review
5 years ago
Paul Stewart gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Ramon Terrazas gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Pércio Rodrigues gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Hiram Lopez gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Brandon Gushiken gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Armando Czr Roberts gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Eric Zeller gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Nathan O'Connor gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Derek Geter gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Juan Mena gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Milica Bošković gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
JoJo Agorrilla gave The Arena a 5 star review

I've trained at almost every MMA/BJJ gym in San Diego. This place/facility by far is 2nd to none! Great coaches, from BJJ, Muay Thai, Boxing, Wrestling, Strength & Conditioning to Judo! The coaches here really care about their students, to see them grow in knowledge whether it's to compete or just learn new things, they put the time & effort into this place. I'm thankful for The Arena, the staff & the family they've become on the mats, in the cage & in the ring.

5 years ago
Adam Garcia gave The Arena a 4 star review
5 years ago
Julio Bitar gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Chuy Flores gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Ed Sanchez gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Franco Gomez gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Nikola Drc gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Marc Zanyk gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Brandon Craig gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Stefan Tolinsson gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
Ado Kovacevic gave The Arena a 5 star review
5 years ago
C Raul Catalin gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Ray Trujillo gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Renato Prendi gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Aziz Nazarov gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Dantes Patrik gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Mohammad Reza Mdv gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Enzo Molina Franchini gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Charlie Herrera gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Nechita Ionut gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Sahar Tariq gave The Arena a 4 star review
6 years ago
King-Sin Leonidas Howard gave The Arena a 4 star review
6 years ago
Joe Marchie gave The Arena a 5 star review

Stopped in on an off night from my usual BJJ training spot. Great Jiu Jitsu training in a hospitable and humble environment! Looking forward to going back, highly recommend! Thank you guys!

6 years ago
Keishaun Hill gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Thomas Linnik gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Eddie KingPin gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Dan Torres gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Troy Tanori gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Trinidad Sales gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Jay Hand gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Azmi Bargaoui gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Marvin Goodman gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Stoyan Hollricher gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Syed Zaghum Abbas gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Treat Trizzy Stinson gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
John Rozzi gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Jonathan Anarky Suicidas gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Ian Lawler gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Tony Acuchi gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Joe Siedlinski gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Danny Greiner gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
JC Pérez gave The Arena a 4 star review
6 years ago
Andrew Jackson gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
YEheA AL-DARajEy gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Mike Ofeldt gave The Arena a 4 star review
6 years ago
Cesar Mendez gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Pesach Kremen gave The Arena a 5 star review

This gym cares for the member before profits. Instructors and members always available to help you regardless of ability, age, experience, physical condition, or strength. And it is so easy to get to either via bus 8 or 9 from Old Town Transit Center

6 years ago
Luis Rodriguez gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Armando Murillo Jr. gave The Arena a 4 star review
6 years ago
Lamar Burns gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Tyler Leone gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Robert Plate gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Ricardo Bastida Sanchez gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Phoommipat Satheanram gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Jacob Hamilton gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Erich Lingenfelter gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Sejxhan Tefiku gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Kevin Smith gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Jerrick Jones gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Dudú Borges gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Fernando Zayas Espinoza gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Кристијан Андонов gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Callum Bracey gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Izaquiel Lara gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Joseph Schuster gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Chuck E. Landy gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Hashim Ottoman Hashim gave The Arena a 4 star review
6 years ago
Viktor Tuta Gjorgjievski gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Sean Gransden gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Ortega A. Oscar gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Йордан Гълъбов gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Rony Mena gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Morgan Pryor gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Kevin Castillo gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Kristin George gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Todd Barnes gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Jose Carlos Rojas gave The Arena a 4 star review
6 years ago
Jose Jorrin gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Stefan Erce Ercegovac gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Adam Watson gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Joseph Morales gave The Arena a 4 star review
6 years ago
David Romero gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Mark Tullius gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Ben Eggs Rozells gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Roberto Gambino gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Alan Damian gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Eric Bolli gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Miko Vaskovic gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Adriana Najor gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Rana Rana gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Tony Chino Perez gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Julian Aguilar Arevalo gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
G Rich Verdejo gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Guy Johnson gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
J M Cabrera Elias gave The Arena a 4 star review
6 years ago
Rob Turtle Whitson gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Iwona Wasilewska gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
D.j. Davis gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Andrew Jackson gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Gutierrez Hernandez gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Noelito Fuentes gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Roman Gabriel gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Andrew Louis gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Kenneth Cross gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Lucky-Phineas Nhlengethwa gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Spencer Sparrow gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Stephen Coard gave The Arena a 4 star review
6 years ago
Andrei RG gave The Arena a 4 star review
6 years ago
Amado S Garcia gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Raymond M Torres gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Monte Massey gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
AhMed Samty gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Jorge Perpuly gave The Arena a 5 star review

A lot of friendly people. A verry good work out and they perfect your technique. I currently do boxing and wrestleing and I love the fact that anyone can come to the gym and pick up on any class. I love sparing with everyone as I belief you learn best sparing with the best, I have bruises to prove it.

6 years ago
Tomislav Cvitić gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Anirudh Ramkumar gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Demian Felipe gave The Arena a 4 star review
6 years ago
Alfonso Rojas gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Cristiano Frozza gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
LaBroi Walton gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Derek Wolf gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Andy Schnadig gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Edgar Rubio gave The Arena a 4 star review
6 years ago
Azael Beycker Rdz gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Alexis Gomez Lopez gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Pepey Mn gave The Arena a 4 star review
6 years ago
Piotrek EM gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Brian Nero gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Nicolas Dangeros gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Марко Радичевић gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Sergio Chavez gave The Arena a 4 star review
6 years ago
William Fujiwara Magana gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Jacob Mcclelland gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Chris Wayne gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Ana Rojo gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Claudio Velásquez Zambrano gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Yesica Ramos gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Evan Kilki gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Carlos Holt gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Daniel Bañuelos gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Алекс Богоев gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Martin Georgiev gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Lalo Benitez gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Ebony Lowery gave The Arena a 4 star review
6 years ago
Rafaela Alves gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Shane Kruchten gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Luis Damian gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Jo-Ann Leianuenue Kalauli gave The Arena a 4 star review
6 years ago
Katherine Sweetman gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Golofca Daniel gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Milan Stojanovic gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Иван Ачковски gave The Arena a 4 star review
6 years ago
Ahmed Azaiez gave The Arena a 4 star review
6 years ago
Mihailo Stanimirovic gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Jose Lucas gave The Arena a 4 star review
6 years ago
Risto Dimitrov Churino gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Jem Palmiano Samala gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Jose Carlos Chavez gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Ariel Caltabiano gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Kostur Shakiri gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Adam Puchalski gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Александар Будић gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Max Lestrade gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Mahjoubi Oussema gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Enríquez Enríquez gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Joshua Adams gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Humberto Rodriguez gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Romeo Papas gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Jose De La Riva gave The Arena a 5 star review
6 years ago
Eddie Matti gave The Arena a 5 star review

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND

8 years ago

As a beginner fighter that's a few weeks into my membership, I can tell you that I love The Arena and that I already feel at home here. All of the staff &... more

Mike S. gave The Arena a 5 star review

This gym is amazing if you plan on competing in any combat sport, or if you're looking for real self-defense ability. The instruction for each discipline is... more

Sergio B. gave The Arena a 4 star review
Scroll To Top